A new way to view Excel files in Confluence

Hi Community 👋,

My name is Shalu Pandey, and I’m a product manager working on Confluence Ecosystem features for Confluence Cloud.

I’m happy to share that the Excel Macro has gotten an upgrade, making it easier to view embedded Excel files in Confluence. We prioritized this work based on customer feedback that the existing experience made it hard to work with Excel files within Cloud.

The Excel Macro now displays content more similarly to how Excel works - tabs of sheets, instead of a PDF. In the new experience, the file is displayed as a spreadsheet with tabs and you can navigate the embedded Excel file in a Confluence page.

🔢 Spreadsheet format makes it easier to engage with data

BEFORE                                    AFTER
before.gif  giphy                            

🗂 Tabbed views make it easier to navigate the embedded file 

tabbed views.gif

🚨If you're currently using the Excel Macro, you'll need to re-upload your file to see the new experience. Follow the steps below to upload.

upload steps.gif

This feature is currently rolling out so if you don’t see it on your Confluence Cloud instance today, it should come to your site soon.

Please leave any feedback below in the comments and stay tuned for more exciting things from Confluence Ecosystem coming soon!

40 comments

Stu June 8, 2022

Looks great @Shalu Pandey !! Any word as to when Data Center may have this feature?

Like • # people like this
Ollie Guan
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
June 8, 2022

Cool, any plan for data center?

Dave Beever June 9, 2022

Sounds like a real improvement. Is there any way to proactively check if my organisation has received the new macro or a means to proactively get the new macro?

Like • Bryan Dilks likes this
Simon Kliewer
Atlassian Team