Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A Child Page by Label User Macro

I am a huge (yooge) fan of user macros. They fill in the holes in Confluence functionality, or create usable variants of existing macros. This article provides a solution for generating a child page listing that filters based on labels. 

Motivation

For PDF exports (using the v3.x Scroll PDF Exporter), I needed a list of child pages filtered by labels (including excluding labels), but still had the same appearance as the Children Display Macro. You could use the Content by Label Macro, but it adds page icons and has more setting to enable. And I wanted to get rid of the extra space above these macros (see image later). Moreover, I needed this macro to list page in navigation order (which the Content by Label Macro cannot do).

The Macro

Because I am an amateur coder, I often look to work done by others to kick start my project. In this case, I started with the Include Child Pages User Macro developed by Gregor Mirai and Ronald van Rij.  As is often the case, I ended up make a lot of modifications to the original code to get what I needed, but the kick-start was very valuable. And of course, I may not have found the most elegant solution as time was of the essence (apologies!).

The Options

I structured the macro to limit the number of user options to make it both quick to insert, and easy to use. I did tie off the sort order for my use case, but left the code in place.

OptionValuesDescription
Parent Page TitleAnyInclude children of a specific parent page. If no page is defined, the current page will be selected.
LabelsAnyInclude only subpages with a delimited list of label(s). The macro accepts any non-word character (as defined by RegEx) as a separator. Using a hyphen before a label indicates exclusion. No label will cause the macro to list all child pages (same as Children Display macro).