Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Confluence unknown users after export from cloud

Mark Petronic July 15, 2019

I want to export confluence spaces from our cloud instance and host in our new on-prem data center. We are running Confluence 16.5.4 data center. I am exporting one space from the cloud instance and using the Backup and Restore options. All the users associated with the content from that export (in the entities.xml file) are represented by hashed IDs, not usernames or email addresses. For example, I am a site admin so, when I do the export, I see me represented by name in the XML, like this (hashes are altered so not the real ones):

<object class="ConfluenceUserImpl" package="com.atlassian.confluence.user">
<id name="key"><![CDATA[8a7f8085675225c7019875647496f01b8]]></id>
<property name="name"><![CDATA[mark.petronic@noreply.xyz]]></property>
<property name="lowerName"><![CDATA[mark.petronic@noreply.xyz]]></property>
<property name="atlassianAccountId"><![CDATA[557058:24be9740-1019-405d-952c-8ffabcaa6e82]]></property>
</object>

But EVERY OTHER user with attributed content or comments in the space look like this:

<id name="key"><![CDATA[8a7f80904948425c70167567a496f01b9]]></id>
<property name="name"><![CDATA[557058:35a38e8a-2a49-44a5-8ef1-c89dd4c3750a]]></property>
<property name="lowerName"><![CDATA[557058:35a38e8a-2a49-44a5-8ef1-c89dd4c3750a]]></property>
<property name="atlassianAccountId"><![CDATA[557058:35a38e8a-2a49-44a5-8ef1-c89dd4c3750a]]></property>
</object>

Where their name and lowerName values are mapped to their atlassainAccountId value.

So, upon import into data center, all content attributed to me (mark.petronic@noreply.xyz) gets wired up correctly but ALL OTHER USERS end up looking like:

Unknown User (557058:fa30073f-084e-4601-a781-d39dbd4d7496)

This page talks about account visibility having an effect on exported user information: