How to create simple custom macros in Confluence Cloud

Back in 2014, I made a presentation at Atlassian Summit that I hoped would challenge people's assumptions that Confluence Cloud was limited and inflexible as a solution. In it, I talk about core Confluence features (templates, macros, permissions, and space architecture) and also the possibilities of Atlassian Connect.

Some details and features have changed since then, but for the most part, the concepts in the presentation are still valid. In particular, you can still use the Atlassian Connect framework to make simple custom macros, and you don't need to be a professional programmer either.

I thought it might be worthwhile re-sharing this again.

But I'm not a developer or programmer, how could I use Atlassian Connect?

For a simple, static content macro that doesn't have any logic or configuration required (i.e. reusable blocks of content) you only need these three things:

1. Admin access to your Confluence Cloud instance
  2. Access to web hosting that supports HTTPS - e.g. Amazon S3 hosting is good enough https://aws.amazon.com/s3/
  3. Your custom macro code, made up of three files:
    • A special configuration file ("atlassian-connect.json")
    • A file that contains your content (e.g. "macro.xml" in the example below)
    • An image or icon to represent your macro (e.g. "icon.png" in the example below)

Those 3 files are uploaded to your hosting then installed into your Confluence Cloud instance.

The file that contains your content will be a snippet of HTML / Storage Format text. An easy way to create your content snippet is to draft it on a Confluence page, then use the view storage format tool. E.g. this content 

example-storage-format.pnglooks like this in Confluence's storage format:

<p>Hello, world!</p><ac:structured-macro ac:name="info" ac:schema-version="1" ac:macro-id="b1298625-64bf-42e8-b3bc-e3489526e9bc"><ac:rich-text-body>