Announcing Table Extensibility to better visualize data in Confluence

Hello!

My name is Laura Mehrkens, and I’m a product manager for the Confluence Ecosystem team. Last month, we announced the release of Table Extensibility in Confluence through an Early Access Program (EAP). Today, I’m excited to announce the general release of Table Extensibility to all Confluence Cloud users, allowing for the visualization and manipulation of data in table format from multiple data sources!

Confluence Cloud users coming from on-premises versions of Confluence will be excited to know that Table Extensibility debuts requested functionality (transforming and visualizing table-based data) that users experienced using Confluence on-prem.

How does it work?

Table Extensibility allows elements, such as a data macro, to act as the source of another element. Confluence Cloud users can then create transformer macros – such as pivot tables – or build visual charts that reference the data in a source table. Additionally, users can chain multiple macros together to create a more complex relationship between multiple sets of data. This allows real-time viewing of the visualization as the data changes.

Using the Connect Data toolbar item available in supported Connect macros, users can open the Connected Data Panel. In the panel, users will be able to view and configure connections and create macro data chains on a page.

Currently, we support three types of data chains:

1. Native Table to Connect Macro

2. Connect Macro to Native Chart

3. Connect Macro to Connect Macro

How can I use it in my day-to-day?

We imagine a lot of different ways.

Tables will become more complex and will be able to combine many data sources into a single visual presentation. These complex tables will become the source data for sophisticated charts and visualizations that will update in real-time as you edit the source data.

connect_to_chart (1) (3).gif