Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

fatal: Out of memory, malloc failed (tried to allocate 2282218975 bytes)

Melana Smith August 1, 2016

I'm attempting "Check out in SourceTree" for a work project that is located in Stash and when the project tries to clone itself it is stopped by the error that is has run out of memory. I've never checked out this project before so this is my first time interacting with this repository on my machine. I'm not sure how to go about resolving my error so that I can get the large project to my machine.

13 answers

2 votes
Sebastian Bicchi August 2, 2016

Sorry, I've just read "SourceTree" which is able to use Git as well as hg/mercury. 

OK, very well - the next thing you need to find out (or maybe you know it already) if your installation is using the embedded GIT or the system git. Then you can increase the memory limit(s) for git or update if it's a known issue. You can also try to clone it from command line and post the output. 

Open Tools > Options > Git. see which button is disabled or post a screenshot (from: https://confluence.atlassian.com/sourcetreekb/using-embedded-git-or-system-git-in-sourcetree-785323587.html ).

You can now open a console and switch to the path where your git is located.

cd %USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Atlassian\SourceTree\git_local\bin

and increase memory for git by using the following commands

git config pack.packSizeLimit 1g
git config pack.deltaCacheSize 1g
git config pack.windowMemory 1g
git config core.packedGitLimit 1g
git config core.packedGitWindowSize 1g

or change the git config file

[pack]
        deltaCacheSize = 1g
        packSizeLimit = 1g
        windowMemory = 1g
[core]
        packedGitLimit = 1g
        packedGitWindowSize = 1g

Try increase these values carefully.

0 votes
Mangesh Chougule May 29, 2019

Hello Team,

getting error:- remote: fatal: Out of memory, malloc failed (tried to allocate 507510824 bytes) while clonning the repo.