Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

auto format code on commit

Jan Bom Trap September 30, 2019

Hi i'm fairly new at git and bitbucket, and i've tired to find a way to format code before it's beeing merged with origin.  

the issue i'm trying to solve is that we constantly get merge conflicts, that aren't real conflict, due to developers using their ovn code formatting templates.

i've tried to find examples through google and forums that either solve my issue or point me in the right direction but with no luck.

could i use hooks or something similar to format the code before merge? or should the problem be solved elsewhere

regards jan

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Jack Nolddor _Sweet Bananas_
Marketplace Partner
Marketplace Partners provide apps and integrations available on the Atlassian Marketplace that extend the power of Atlassian products.
September 30, 2019

Hi Jan Bom Trap and Welcome,

IMHO this should be fixed on the developer IDE side, not sure what are you using so the proposed solution might or not be implemented depending of the IDE features.

My team are used to code using Eclipse IDE, all of us use a prefefined Code Formatting Template and also we have configure the IDE to auto-formatting the code when saved the file.

On Eclipse IDE see:

• Preferences >> Java >> Editor >> Save Actions -- enable 'Format all lines'
  • Preferences >> Java >> Code Style >>Formatter -- ensure all members use the same Profile, you can also export / import your own.

In this way, only changes in the code are reflected in Pull Request.

Hope this helps.
Regards

thanks for your respons. we primarily use toad for oracle as an IDE, manily oracle database programming and oracle forms.