Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

atlassian/ftp-deploy:0.2.1 uses lots of minutes

ericgerhardy September 11, 2019

Hello guys!

I'm quite new to Bitbucket pipelines and I recently tried the ftp-deploy (version 0.2.1). After making the initial commit of a single Wordpress installation, the pipeline took 92 min to upload those files to the server.

I know that ftp isn't the fastest way to upload files, but isn't this way to slow?

My configuration is:

pipelines:
default:
- step:
name: Deploy to shared-hosting
script:
- pipe: atlassian/ftp-deploy:0.2.1
variables:
USER: $FTP_USERNAME
PASSWORD: $FTP_PASSWORD
SERVER: $FTP_SERVER
REMOTE_PATH: '/'

Thank you!

EDIT: I tried again - this time only 16 small files changed. After I committed those files, the deployment startet to overwrite every single file on the shared hosting and I stopped the process after 5 minutes.

3 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Alexander Zhukov
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
September 13, 2019

Hey @ericgerhardy. There were service disruptions in Bitbucket recently that could've affected your deployment. I'd suggest that you try to rerun the pipeline to see if the execution time is withing a reasonable time range. If this is not the case, I'd check the size of your repository, as by default, the pipe will upload the entire repo to a remote server. 

Also, since the pipe runs inside docker, the modification times of files isn't preserved. You have to add the --ignore-size option to the EXTRA_ARGS:

- pipe: atlassian/ftp-deploy:0.2.1
variables:
USER: $FTP_USERNAME
PASSWORD: $FTP_PASSWORD
SERVER: $FTP_SERVER
REMOTE_PATH: '/'
EXTRA_ARGS: '--ignore-size'

With this option, the pipe will only upload files that have changed in size.

ericgerhardy September 13, 2019