Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is the Root URL for SourceTree App?

Jeff Saengsri April 30, 2018

I am new to BitBucket, and the company I am freelancing for uses BitBucket to edit their code. So, they already had an existing repository, and I want to create connect it to the SourceTree computer app. Upon install, the app asks for the root url, which I am not to sure what is it. 

I think I found somewhere online that it could be http[s]://<repo_owner>@bitbucket.org/<repo_owner>/<repo_name>.git but that is not working either.

Thank you for those to help em out!

15 answers

1 accepted

13 votes
Answer accepted
Ana Retamal
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
September 10, 2018

Hi everyone!

The main issue in this thread seems to be Bitbucket Cloud users trying to register using the Bitbucket Server method. Please note that there are 2 ways of registering Sourcetree: 'Bitbucket Server' and 'Atlassian account'. If you have a Bitbucket Server account, use the 'Bitbucket Server account'. If you DON'T HAVE a Bitbucket Server account and instead you use Bitbucket Cloud, Github or any other service, you need to register using an Atlassian account.

After this step has been completed and the installation process finished, you'll be able to connect your repos following the steps at Connect your Bitbucket or Github account.

Hope that helps!

Ana

Gregg OD October 10, 2018

Im installing sourcetree in October and I had the same confusion.

I think its down to human error where you see Bitbucket and you immediately click it without thinking.

Which calls for two changes in the setup:

You should make it more clear.
You should put this information on the setup page so people dont get frustrated and have to Google it.

Thanks,
G

Like # people like this
cheng2018 October 19, 2018

This UI design makes a simple login process so frustrating

Like # people like this