Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Sign up Log in

Temporary downgrade to free, re-upgrade in a few months. What will happen

helpdesk March 12, 2024

Hello,

Currently paying for a standard Bitbucket plan. Thinking of temporarily changing to free plan.

What happens when we want to re-upgrade to premium in the future? Will we regain access to everything, the state everything was before the downgrade? Exactly as they were before downgrading temporarily to free?

Other comments of things we should consider are welcome.

Thanks, Em

1 answer

0 votes
Ben
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
March 12, 2024

Hi!

If you downgrade to Free, you will lose all access to Premium features whilst the plan is downgraded as well as direct support through our ticketing system (Community is available to you).

Additionally, Free plan's have a maximum of 5 users. I can see that you have < 5 users in your workspace so you should not be affected by this particular limitation.

I can confirm that if you decide to upgrade again in future, you will re-gain access to everything as it was prior to the downgrade :)

Cheers!

- Ben (Bitbucket Cloud Support)

Serafina Smith April 11, 2024

Hi Ben, 

I am in the same position as Em: I am switching from a yearly premium license to a monthly premium license.

Making this switch requires a temporary downgrade to a free plan and then immediately purchasing the monthly premium plan.

Do you know if this will affect any of the pipelines or self-hosted workers?

Also, we have 25 users--what will happen to the 20 folks above that 5 users limit?

  • Will they simply be made inactive and need to be manually reactivated?
  • Or will they be removed from the system?

Thanks!

Serafina

Ben
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
April 11, 2024

Hi @Serafina Smith 

Once the downgrade to Free occurs, you will not see any users removed or de-activated, but all users will be temporarily unable to push to repositories whilst the plan upgrade is taking place (due to the 5 user restriction limit).

I would suggest raising a ticket with our CA team for further assistance, please raise a ticket using "Billing Payments & Pricing" from the dropdown menu:

Cheers!

- Ben (Bitbucket Cloud Support)

Suggest an answer

Log in or Sign up to answer
DEPLOYMENT TYPE
CLOUD
PERMISSIONS LEVEL
Site Admin
TAGS
AUG Leaders

Atlassian Community Events