Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Status 400 when using a runner with Bitbucket cloud pipeline

Joe Noonan June 29, 2022

I am fairly new to DevOps, and have been trying to create a self hosted runner to build my projects.

I have setup a Bitbucket runner on my local machine. It uses a public docker image.

I then have a Bitbucket pipeline to use the runner, it seems to connect fine. But when it runs it gives this error:

"Status 400: {"message":"failed to create shim: OCI runtime create failed: runc create failed: unable to start container process: exec: \"/pause\": stat /pause: no such file or directory: unknown"}"

Any ideas on what could be the problem?

1 answer

0 votes
Theodora Boudale
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
July 4, 2022

Hi Joe,

Could you please share the following, so we can better help you:

1. Are you using a runner for Linux, Windows, or MacOS?

2. Are the minimum requirements listed on the following page met for the machine where you set up the runner?

3. Does this error show when you are starting the runner, or when you run a build that uses this runner?

Based on your description, it sounds like the issue occurs when you run a build, but I just want to make sure.

4. Does the error show in the Pipelines build log on Bitbucket website, or in the command-line application where you started the runner?

5. Which public docker image are you using in your build?

Kind regards,
Theodora

Joe Noonan July 5, 2022

Hi Theodora,

1. Linux - Ubuntu 20.04.

2. Yes all minimum requirements are met. I am running Ubuntu in a VM as well.

3. The runner starts up fine and goes "online", it when I run the build.

4. In the command line where the runner is and in Bitbucket.

5. I am using a STM32 image, one I created myself but is public. (Would be great to use private images in runners though.)