Someone has already registered that SSH key

Tomaz Strukelj September 29, 2017

I have my public key set in some users repo and I can't remove it from there. 

Went through this KB article : https://confluence.atlassian.com/bbkb/someone-has-already-registered-that-ssh-key-338365482.html .

At the bottom it says "Then visit the account for that username and remove or update the SSH key configuration." .  How do I do that? I went to the users page I can't do anything there. Any instructions?

I tried to contact that user numerous times and he's not responding. 

6 answers

1 vote
vagelis_simitsis November 4, 2020

Is there any chance Bitbucket will change that? I am a freelancer working for different companies and sometimes some of them have bitbucket. Imagine the headaches this causes.

Right now i have my SSH key registered to an account with company X and i want to start using BitBucket for a newly formed company of mine. I am gonna stick with github until i can think a solution that doesn't add headaches in my daily workflow.

Any ideas anyone? (Except having multiple keys and letting GIT knows) 

1 vote
andrian.jardan November 18, 2019

How many keys does Atlassian think a user can have :)?

If I am a freelancer for example, do you expect me to generate a new key for every single project ?

I understand the security "explanation", and it sort of makes sense, but this is why we "invented" the SSH keys in the first place, to have a secure and convenient way to authenticate, and this is ruining it.

Also, SSH keys have passwords attached, so even if the key is compromised, it cannot be used in most of cases.

I would say that refactoring Bitbucket to use key-per-project is a big change and nobody wants to invest time in it, that's why people talk about security...

Meanwhile, I will generate the 10'th key I have to use just because of this :)

Ana Retamal
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.