Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Several Bitbucket limitations on file sizes?

Will Gardner October 17, 2022

I'm an IT manager of a 3 developer team and I've recently stuck my neck out to jump to BitBucket from an older but apparently feature rich open source project (part of Phabricator). I really like the BB interface but I was shocked when my lead developer started complaining about a few features that seem they should be standard in an enterprise level system. It feels like we're going backwards in a few areas.

1. When doing a diff on a branch, it cannot display all files (nor browse to the files) if you have a lot of files to diff.
2. When doing a diff on a large file, you can't see all diffs
3. When doing a diff on a large file, you can't browse the entire file
4. When doing a search in a repo, it will not search large files!

All of these limitations seem very odd. If we upgrade to the paid version will these limits be removed? Or, are these issues going to be addressed or even on a roadmap? Is there an ETA?

2 answers

1 vote
Theodora Boudale
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
October 19, 2022

Hi Will,

We have the following limits for viewing diffs in Bitbucket Cloud:

These limits apply to all repositories regardless of the billing plan.

I wouldn't recommend using Git LFS for text source code files, as when you use Git LFS for text files you won't be able to view their diff at all.

1. When doing a diff on a branch, it cannot display all files (nor browse to the files) if you have a lot of files to diff.