Run a custom pipeline but not master branch

Dario Bednarski June 3, 2020

Hi all,

Setup:

I am new to bitbucket pipelines and just recently set all up. I have 3 custom pipelines and 1 pipeline for branch "master".

What I want:

Now I would like to run one of those 3 custom pipelines for a branch which is not the master branch.

Steps to reproduce:

Therefore I go to "pipelines" and click on the "Run pipeline" Button on the upper right corner. A modal displays where I must select a branch first and then the pipeline.

image.pngIf I select the master branch the select for the pipeline is populated with my 3 custom pipelines and the 1 for the master branch.

Problem:

If I select a branch which is not the master branch, I can't select any pipeline because no pipeline is displayed to be selected.

Question:

What is wrong here? Am I missing something?

What I already tested:

I thought maybe it just works with the master pipeline because I have 3 custom pipelines and 1 for the master branch. So I added a "default" section just to have something for all other branches. I hoped that this will display the custom pipelines in the select when I want to run a pipeline not for the master branch, but it don't.

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Radek Antoniuk
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
June 3, 2020

Just double-checking as I don't see your pipeline definition - do you have a pipeline definition for the other branches in bitbucket-pipelines.yml that is committed and pushed to those custom branches?

Dario Bednarski June 3, 2020

Ok, shame on me. 

Because I just started using bitbucket pipelines the bitbucket-pipelines.yml file was just on master branch. Adding the file to another branch solved the problem.

Thank you so much!

Like Radek Antoniuk likes this
Radek Antoniuk
Rising Star