Problem reading env variables in bitbucket pipeline - with cypress and npm

Shiri Rave May 3, 2022

Hi bitbucket team & community,

I am trying to build a pipeline for automating cypress tests.

Currently I am getting no indication what so ever that the defined env variables (primarily defined in the repo, workspace and test deploy environment) has been read. when printing the vars using 'echo', i get their names and not their values.

Currently I am get errors indicating that the env params has not been read.  

I am also new to yml and would appreciate a clue on how to change the above file using variables etc.

Below is a shortened version for my bitbucket-pipelines.yml file and some of the errors I'm getting.

Thanks,

Shiri.

p.s: Update: 

I have found out that the params are not read when using repo 'secured' button, and read otherwise. why is that? how can I use then when secured?

Thanks.

---

image: cypress/browsers:node14.17.0-chrome88-ff89

pipelines:
default:
- step:
name: Build and Test
caches:
- node
- cypress
script:
# install dependencies
- echo '################# Printing vars to see what is available...###################'
- echo '"$FIRST_PARAM_FROM_WORKSPACE_OR_REPO"'
- export FIRST_PARAM_FROM_WORKSPACE_OR_REPO='"http"'
- echo '"$FIRST_PARAM_FROM_WORKSPACE_OR_REPO"'
- echo SECOND_PARAM_FROM_WORKSPACE_OR_REPO="$SECOND_PARAM_FROM_WORKSPACE_OR_REPO" >> .env
- echo FIRST_PARAM_FROM_WORKSPACE_OR_REPO="$FIRST_PARAM_FROM_WORKSPACE_OR_REPO" >> .env.local
- cat .env
# install dependencies
- npm install
- npm ci
- npx browserslist@latest --update-db
# start the server in the background
- npm run start:ci &
# run Cypress tests in Firefox
# - npx cypress run --browser chrome
- npx cypress run --spec "cypress/integration/my_test_file.spec.js"
services:
- mongo
artifacts:
# store any generates images and videos as artifacts
- cypress/screenshots/**
- cypress/videos/**
# install dependencies
- npm ci
# start the server in the background
- npm run start:ci &