Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

It's not the same without you

Join the community to find out what other Atlassian users are discussing, debating and creating.

Atlassian Community Hero Image Collage

Personal Access Token for Bitbucket Cloud?

Hello!

I can only find documentation for personal access token for Bitbucket Server: https://confluence.atlassian.com/bitbucketserver/personal-access-tokens-939515499.html

Is this functionality also available for Bitbucket Cloud?

Thank you

3 answers

2 votes
Ana Retamal Atlassian Team Jan 03, 2018

Hi David, apologies for the late response! I hope this answer will still help someone, so here it goes :)

Bitbucket Cloud does not have personal access tokens, but depending on what use you wanted to give them you can use App passwords or OAuth instead.

Would this suit you?

Cheers!

Ana

What is the reason behind lack of *personal access tokens* feature in Bitbucket cloud? 

As a developer, I find access tokens very handy when you are executing Git commands (i.e. clone, push, pull, etc). I use Github's personal access token on daily basis and it's super convenient. 

I guess I will have to disable 2FA in my bitbucket :( 

Hi @Raf, Bitbucket developer here.

I believe that App passwords that Ana referred to above are just what you're looking for. They were introduced exactly for the case when 2FA is turned on but some scoped access with basic auth is required.

Hope this helps.

Cheers!

Daniil

Like # people like this

@Daniil Penkin - I'm curious why Atlassian didn't go with calling them "Personal access tokens"? :-)

Unlike personal access token app password is not enough to authenticate with Bitbucket Cloud, it also requires your username (login). So it is a password.

Like # people like this

@Daniil Penkin - thanks for the quick response!

I want to use personal access token to give AWS amplify access, with bitbucket cloud that is not possible, is there a workaround for.