Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No master branch when creating a repository?

Alex Scott May 31, 2014

I'm sorry if this is a dumb question, I have never used any type of version control before. I signed up for bitbucket, went through their tutorial with source tree to modify the file and push it back to the repository and had no issues

After creating a repository for some java code on bit bucket (repository is empty at this point), I went to source tree, located the directory where everything was stored, added it to the repository, added a gitignore file and did everything else I was told to do in a brief tutorial I found(including linking sourcetree to this repository).

In the tutorial, and everywhere else, it says I need to click "git flow" to push these files to bitbucket. However when I try, I get an error saying that "The production branch you chose, "master", does not exist." And then it tells me it can't create this branch.

After looking at my repository I see that there is no "master" under the branches, however, in my bookmarks, it says that I am working under the "master" branch. Also, when I tried to create a "master" branch, it won't let me. Does anyone know how to get around this or solve this issue?

11 answers

15 votes
RakeMark June 14, 2015

Just had the same issue and this was top on google with no answer. You need to add something and commit it. Once you do that the master branch will be created in your local repo and you can then push and branch from it. 

Joy Progga October 6, 2017

Thanks... it did worked !! 

6 votes
Denis Lomtev July 18, 2018

Try this:

1. Open terminal (button in SourceTree UI)

2. Type

git checkout -b master

3. Close terminal

4. Commit in your brand new master branch

Brian Geary February 13, 2020

This worked for me - thanks for sharing the tip!

4 votes
Peter Roehlen March 9, 2016