cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Logging in with ssh

sundaresh
I'm New Here
I'm New Here
Those new to the Atlassian Community have posted less than three times. Give them a warm welcome!
June 11, 2019

I am a novice with project management tools, but how do I login to my home directory on bit-bucket/Attlassian, from my terminal using the ssh program ? This is without using the web-interface. Presumably once I have logged in I can issue git or hg commands on the command line to manage my projects. Also If I have to host and maintain a web-site associated with my project,  how do I do this, I need a domain-name specifically for the project, and the directory in which to place files for my web-site for my project and so on ?

I do not have a team, but can I create several projects and work on them somewhat simultaneously  ?

If there is documentation for all such basic questions already present, you can direct me to those parts. Totally new to project management, so general pointers to the tools I should familiarize myself with would be helpful.

1 answer

0 votes
Ana Retamal
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
June 13, 2019

Hi Sundaresh, welcome! 

I presume you're using Bitbucket Cloud, so all my pointers will refer to that tool. If you're using Bitbucket Server, let us know and will make some adjustments.

From the terminal you'll be able to access the repositories that you're hosting on Bitbucket. Once you open the terminal, you'll need to use either Git or Hg commands to access and interact with your repos. You'll need to be somewhat familiar with Git or Hg. To help you with that, I recommend you go through this tutorial that will teach you about Git, how to get started with Bitbucket, how to inspect a repository, etc.