Missed Team ’24? Catch up on announcements here.

Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is it possible to use an API to access the contents of a private repo?

Deleted user September 10, 2020

I am working on a VUE project where I'd like to be able to create a list of files which are in my private repo and then use that list to copy the matching files from my private repo into a zip folder for the user to download.

I have the create list and download zip folder functionality figured out so far.

However I am totally new to using APIs so I'm looking for advice on whether this is possible or not and what the best way to go about it would be.

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Theodora Boudale
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
September 11, 2020

Hi Christopher,

Do you need help with getting a list of files via API or the contents of these files? Or perhaps both?

Could you also please let us know whether this concerns repositories hosted in Bitbucket Cloud or Bitbucket Server?

Kind regards,
Theodora

Deleted user September 11, 2020

Both for different purposes.

I'm not sure what the difference between cloud and server is. It's a repository on bitbucket.org.

Theodora Boudale
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
September 14, 2020

Hi Christopher,

Thank you for your reply. If the repository is hosted on bitbucket.org, then this is Bitbucket Cloud (Bitbucket Server is a product you install on your own servers, so this is self-hosted).

For Bitbucket Cloud, you can use this endpoint to get a list of the root directory on the main branch of the repo (at the latest commit):

An example call could be the following:

curl -sL -X GET --user username:password http://api.bitbucket.org/2.0/repositories/repo-owner/repo-slug/src

where