How to create a new Repository in Bitbucket and code?

davidp7 April 17, 2017

Hi,

I am new to Bitbucket.

My Admin has created a new Project PRS.  It's path is like http://server:port/projects/PRS. He said I can now be able to add code.

I need to create a Repository / folders like QA & PROD and add code in it. Could you please guide me in simple steps either through Git CMD or Git UI?

Thanks in advance.

David

5 answers

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Ana Retamal
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
April 17, 2017

Hi David!

You can find step by step instructions on how to create a repository using the Bitbucket UI at Creating repositories. If you prefer to do it through the Git CMD, you can read Setting up a repository.

Once you've done that, you'll start coding. In this other article you'll learn how to get started with Git and Bitbucket and how to push your code to Bitbucket, visit Getting started with Git and Bitbucket Server.

Also, if you'd like to use a Git client, you can install Sourcetree which is free and available for Mac and Windows.

I hope this helps, David. Let me know if you have any questions!

Cheers,

Ana

davidp7 April 18, 2017

Hi Ana!

Thank you very much! I will follow the steps.

I have a question : I dont see the option "Create Repository" from UI.  Can I be able to create a repository with command  line? (  assuming I dont have Project Admin Rights)

Thank you,

David

Ana Retamal
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
April 19, 2017