How to clone specific branch instead of master branch

Young Joe October 25, 2021

Hi, I am a real beginner on GIT and this is basic concept question with basic how to question.

My understanding is

1. Create main/master repository on cloud and clone/copy the repository as a branch(let's say A branch)

2. A branch has same files as Master branch

3. Using "git clone" and bring all files to local repo.

In this step, I only can clone master branch.  Can I clone A branch?

4. Edit/create files in local.

5. Using "git add, git commit" and put changes to my local repo

6. Using "git push" and put it on A branch in cloud

In this step, my changes go to master branch.

Isn't this go to A branch and I follow PR, approve and merge steps?

My questions are

How can I push my local changes to A branch, not master.

How can I set master branch to deny direct push from local.

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Esther Strom
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
October 25, 2021

Hi, @Young Joe - welcome to the Community!

You use clone only once, generally - to get an existing remote repo onto your local machine. Once you've done that, all future work on that repo would be done using checkout.

To check out a new branch from a remote branch other than master (in this example, it's develop; change that to whatever your remote branch is):

git checkout -b <new branch name> origin/develop

To push a local commit to a specific remote branch:

git push origin <remote branch name>

However, if the end goal is to get your changes into master, usually you'd just do git push, which would result in the remote repo having a copy of your local branch. When you create a pull request, the origin is the copy of your branch; the destination is master.