• Community
  • Products
  • Bitbucket
  • Questions
  • How do I delete a branch that was created after using the Bitbucket edit/create pull request function (delete branch option is greyed out)?

How do I delete a branch that was created after using the Bitbucket edit/create pull request function (delete branch option is greyed out)?

We have a branch in a git repo on our Bitbucket that we are unable to delete ("Delete branch" option under the gear icon is greyed out). Not sure if this is specific to what we did to create it but I'd like to figure out how we can delete it.

The branch originally got created by using the Bitbucket online editor, then committing and checking the "create pull request from commit" option. We then tested by declining the pull request.

Shouldn't we be able to still delete this branch? If so, how? (git commands for doing this would be acceptable, I'm still fairly new to git and none of the branch deletion commands I've tried have worked but it's possible I'm doing them wrong).

Thanks!

2 answers

1 accepted

This widget could not be displayed.

Hi Jesse,

Thanks, I found that I needed to use a slightly different command:

git push origin :<branchName>

Not sure if that's due to a difference in versions of git, but it did work.

Thanks for your help!

-steve

This widget could not be displayed.
Jesse Yowell Atlassian Team Aug 06, 2013

Hi Steve,

You will want to use the following to delete a remote branch:

git push --origin delete <branchName>

Make sure you have the correct branch permissions set under the 'Branch management' admin menu (click on the 'gear' icon) but if this does not work, tell us, and we can look in your remote git config to make sure you don't have any flags that are preventing you from deleting a branch.

Cheers,

Jesse

git push origin --delete <branchName>

Suggest an answer

Community showcase
Published Aug 21, 2018 in Bitbucket

Branch Management with Bitbucket