How do I connect BitBucket Server with my project?

aweisbe1 August 30, 2017

I am new to BitBucket Server and wonder about the relationship between BitBucket Server and my actual project. I have BitBucket Server installed on my web server (where my development project lives) and have successfully connected to BitBucket Server from SourceTree, committed and pushed, etc. 

What I don't understand is what I do next. I'd like that when I commit to my BitBucket Server repository, that updates the project development environment on the web server. With Git, I would just have the remote repository live in the folder on the web server where my project resides. How do I tell BitBucket Server to 'live' there? 

Do I need Bamboo to accomplish this? I see that there is a Source Code Checkout task there. Or am I simply misunderstanding the workings of BitBucket Server? 

All guidance is appreciated. 

Thank you. 

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
devpartisan
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
August 30, 2017

As you've discovered, Bitbucket Server doesn't work like "naked" Git. It's meant to be the home for many collaborators and many repositories. As such, it does "own" where it stores Git repositories. A while back, I wrote a blog post about triggering deployment with Git commands that might address your needs.

Yes, you could add Bamboo to the mix, especially if you have some form of tests you would want to run before deploying to your web server.

One more option you might consider would be to skip running your own Bitbucket Server, and use Bitbucket Cloud. Then you could leverage Bitbucket Pipelines to push your web code to your web server.

Hope that helps!

aweisbe1 September 1, 2017

Thanks for your prompt response! Would it work just as well to use the Mirror Hook and just mirror the repo to a Git directory in my directory each time someone commits? 

Also, any idea how to test hooks?