Having trouble cloning a new BitBucket hg repo using SourceTree

Shavais Zarathu October 17, 2014

I'm just getting started with BitBucket, Mercurial, and SourceTree.

I created a BitBucket account, created a fresh hg repository, and downloaded SourceTree. During the SourceTree installation and set up process, it registered (and seemed to successfully find / log into) my BitBucket account, and it found the new repository.

It suggested cloning that repository and offered to do it, and I'm trying to let it do that, but I can't get past that dialog successfully.

No matter what destination path I give it, it either says the path doesn't exist, or it's not empty. The path is empty, I created the folder just now, but when I select that folder, I get a dialog..

Title: "Cannot clone into non-empty folder"
Message: "The destination path (..the path I specified..) already exists and is not empty. Please choose an empty or new folder into which to clone."

..but the folder is empty, I just created it. And if I specify a folder that doesn't exist yet I get a different error dialog that says the destination folder doesn't exist.

Help?

Huh, I just tried typing in a non-existing sub folder of the folder I just created, and magically, this time, it got past the destination path problem (even though I swear I just tried that and it didn't work.. does the parent folder of the destination folder have to be empty? Does the parent folder of the destination folder have to be the same name as the destination folder?), but now I'm getting a different dialog..

Title: "Error"
Message: "warning: bitbucket.org certificate with fingerprint (..long hex string..) not verified (check hostfingerprints or web.cacerts config setting) abort: http authorization required."