Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Disable automatic push after commit

Anne-Sylvie May 19, 2014

Hi, I am quite new to SourceTree that I use to manage my code using Bitbucket.

I believe I understand the behaviour of commiting, pushing, and so on. But when I commit a change to my code using SourceTree, (and I don't push it), I see that it is automatically pushed to the remote server a few seconds after.

Is there an advantage for that ? I thought that commiting and pushing were separated to allow the user to work locally and modifying the remote server less frequently.

I think it is a better practice to do so, and therefore would like to disable the automatic push after commit, except if you convince me of doing the opposite :) (no, I did not check the box next to the commit field to ask for automatic push).

Thank you for your attention and have a good day.

2 answers

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Seth
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 19, 2014

There is also a checkbox in Options for "Push to default/origin remote when committing".

Anne-Sylvie May 20, 2014

Oh, yes ! I don't know why that box was checked. Thanks !

Seth
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 20, 2014

I would have expected that box to cause the equivalent box in the commit dialog to be checked by default, so you could override it for specific commits, but it sounds like that's not the case. Glad you solved it!

0 votes
helgatheviking February 15, 2015