Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cannot commit all changes

russell fleming July 23, 2020

I am new to Bitbucket. Being a Subversion expert is not helping me at all. Something as basic as commiting changes is not intuitive for me.

I have made changes to 2 existing files and added one new file - 3 total.

According to manual "commit" is actually a concept done in two steps. First commit, then push.

I did a commit -m "message" as shown.

I get a confusing dialog back with two sections that implies commit is not commit but ok. 

Changes to be committed:
(use "git restore --staged <file>..." to unstage)

Changes not staged for commit:
(use "git add <file>..." to update what will be committed)

So my new file is is in the first section and the 2 files I changed are in the second section.

Problem, when I do a push only the new file is sent to the repository. The changed files are not being committed.

The help file says try a commit -a but this opens up a window editor for which I cannot find any help on.

I'm just looking for a method to use consistently that "commits" changes. To me changes has always meant new and modified files. I do not want to treat them differently but do not know the proper steps.

1 answer

1 vote
Christian Glockner
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
July 26, 2020

Hi Russell,

Actually there are three steps:

1. Stage the files by running git add <filename> (or git add . (that's a dot) to add all files)
  2. Commit
  3. Push

Based on what you're saying you'll just need to run git add . before running git commit to be sure that all files you added or modified will be committed.

Cheers,

Christian

Premier Support Engineer

Atlassian

Soldier October 19, 2020

Hi Christian,