Missed Team ’24? Catch up on announcements here.

Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I retrieve the email address I used to register a JIRA user account using a legacy username?

mikejoseph
I'm New Here
I'm New Here
Those new to the Atlassian Community have posted less than three times. Give them a warm welcome!
January 26, 2023

After a bit of searching, I've still been unable to find a solution to this issue.

I have 2 Bitbucket accounts. One of which is my own personal Bitbucket account, which I use regularly. I'm a software developer and I created a second Bitbucket account on my client's behalf in order to manage any software projects that are related to them. I then granted my personal account access to their repos and up until now I've had all the access I need.

I've been tasked with changing the password for my client's Bitbucket account due to a recent LastPass security incident and I can't log in to change it! I used to login using a username (not email address) and password. However, Bitbucket's login screen is now prompting for an email address and no longer accepts my username as part of the login inputs.

The problem: I forgot the email address I used to create the account and I can't find a way to retrieve it. Therefore, I can't login to the account even though I have a username and password.

Is there a way of retrieving or resetting the email address associated with a legacy bitbucket username?

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
mikejoseph
I'm New Here
I'm New Here
Those new to the Atlassian Community have posted less than three times. Give them a warm welcome!
February 1, 2023

Hi Theodora,