Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Authenticate bitbucket with Nexus Sonar Type.

Rodolfo Socas June 13, 2023

Hello, first of all, I apologize for the ignorance, I am new in the world of devops and I am learning to create pipelines, in my work we are doing proof of concept to use bitbucket-pipelines, the problem is that there is a repository that needs to connect to Nexus to host code from a library, and I created the pipeline, I added the variables authenticate access to Nexus, and still, the pipeline shows me the following error:

npm ERR! code E401
npm ERR! Unable to authenticate, need: BASIC realm="Sonatype Nexus Repository Manager"
npm ERR! A complete log of this run can be found in:
npm ERR! /root/.npm/_logs/2023-06-14T05_13_35_966Z-debug.log
error Command failed with exit code 1.

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Patrik S
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
June 14, 2023

Hello @Rodolfo Socas and welcome to the Atlassian Community!

From the error being returned, it seems the authentication failed because either the credentials were invalid or it was potentially not setup correctly.

According to Sonatypes docs on publishing NPM packages to Nexus, in order to configure npm to authenticate with your Nexus repo will you will need to provide the base64 encoded username:password in an attribute called _auth on the .npmrc file.

You should be able to do that by including the following commands at the beginning of your pipeline step script : 

npm config set registry="NEXUS_URL" #configure the registry to your nexus instance
npm config set _auth="$(echo -n "$NEXUS_USERNAME:$NEXUS_PASS" | base64)" #Configure the credentials of your Nexus repository and base64 encode them
npm config ls #confirm the configuration is correct
npm publish --registry NEXUS_URL #push to the Nexus registry