Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Accessing repository

Ed June 29, 2016

I'm really new to git and Bitbucket. I want to use it for my shell scripts. I have already created a repository from my work laptop to push all my shell scripts to the repository at Bitbucket. Now, I would like to setup my scripts folder on my home computer to sync the scripts, from my laptop and my desktop, into one repository.

How do I connect to the Bitbucket repository from my home computer that I setup from my work laptop using the same account? Is there documentation somewhere on how to do this?

Thanks.

5 answers

2 votes
Seth
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
June 29, 2016
0 votes
Tim Crall
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
June 29, 2016

If you have scripts on your home computer that are different than the ones on the work computer (and thus in the remote repo) that you want to keep, you should copy them into the clone folder and add them to the repo with git add / git commit / git push

Ed June 29, 2016

@tim crall

Thanks.

Yeah, I was able to work it out. I created a clone and was able to get everything sorted the way I wanted. I guess the only thing I need to remember to do from this point forward is that every time I change a script that I need to copy it to the cloned repo folder on that specific computer.

Tim Crall
Rising Star
Rising Star
June 29, 2016

That doesn't sound quite right.  Moving forward, I'd edit the scripts directly in the repo (and set your path or whatever to use the scripts out of the repo)

Ed June 29, 2016

Ok. So I must have done something wrong.