Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Workflows

Robert Pollard May 30, 2018

Apologies up front for a long article but I need to know what the community does as far as development cycles and how you deal with everyday release problems.

Background:

I have been working with Git for 5+ years and my first encounter was forced on me as I was the only one capable of pulling off a full implementation for our group of developers.

We did not have Atlassian's products and the company wouldn't buy them for some reason.  However, they did spring for Git Enterprise as our company didn't use cloud based products at the time.  So, using command line git, I taught myself everything I could in as little time as I could, so the developers would have a bit of sanity in their everyday workload.

My adopted workflow:

I had heard of other workflows that other companies used and most of them did not make any sense.

In my last job where I learned release methodologies and built a custom deployment system using cron based bash scripts, I devised a way for our developers to continuously push changes to our environments with specific control of promotions in the hands of the developers.  Since they were responsible for seeing their changes through to production, it only made sense that after a successful test of the feature branch by the QA team, they would see to it that their changes were merged into production.

This was a PHP development team and therefore did not need any included libraries and other necessities like a Java/C/C++ developer would need.

On the central repository, I first created the repository and updated the master branch with what was currently in production.  Then, I created 2 "release" branches off of master called "Development" and "QA."  The idea was that the release branches mirrored exactly what  was on the target server environments.