Start with Git before starting with Bitbucket

After posting an answer to Claire Maynard's post about advices for new users getting started with Bitbucket  Bridget encouraged me to write this article to give you some more background to my advice(thanks for that).

My advice was, to get started with Git before getting started with Bitbucket. Let me tell you, why I suggested this.

I have been a software developer for many years and we used a version control system, subversion. And I was used to work with this. Check-In, Check-Out, maybe reverting to a previous revision, even setting up a small svn server for private projects, it was all no problem.
But one day, I decided to try Bitbucket. Thought for myself, it can't be so hard, I am a Software Developer, I know Subversion, come on and let's get started.
So I just signed up on Bitbucket Cloud (it's free for small teams) and wanted to get started.
So I set up a repository and wanted to check in something. But then, a moment of desperation... How should I do that. Ok, I decided to install an client with GUI to have it easier to start and choosed Sourcetree.
But so many new terms, clone, push, pull, commit. Somehow I managed it, but it was a hard way and it became clearer and clearer that I would have to start with learning how to use Git.

2018-08-23 13_23_31-Sourcetree.png

So I decided to stop at this point with trying step by step and better start with learning the git basics by reading the first chapters of the Pro Git Book, that is available here for free: https://git-scm.com/book/en/v2
While doing this, it became a lot clearer how to use Git and understanding the Branching Model was a really big step in the right direction.