Branch Management with Bitbucket

As a project manager, I have discovered that different developers want to bring their previous branching method with them when they join the team. Some developers are used to performing individual work, branching from and merging right back into the master branch. Others have worked on large teams where old branches were never cleaned up, leaving thousands of stale branches along the way. This can really create some otherwise avoidable issues. Fortunately, Bitbucket makes branching, comparing file changes, merging, and cleanup an easy task.

It’s important to involve the whole team, get feedback, decide on the best branching method moving forward, and work on getting wall-to-wall buy-in. Create a branching workflow diagram, explain it to your team, and, as you are getting started, require merge approvals. Require approval. It will keep new users and old from merging when they shouldn't and where they shouldn't, ultimately making for a happier team.