prevent the bitbucket pipline from tirggering when bitbucket-pipelines.yml is updated

t1279k March 15, 2021

I am new to bitbuckt pipeline. To my node project I have added bitbucket-pipelines.yml in the pipeline I have a step to build and push container to ECR and another step to deploy.

Now each time I make a change to bitbucket-pipelines.yml it build and pushes a new image to ECR and deploys.

I do not what the piepline to trigger when I make changes to bitbucket-pipelines.yml. I only want the pipeline to trigger when I make changes to my application. Am I setting up the project wrong?

my project structure.

bitbucket.png

2 answers

1 vote
Theodora Boudale
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
March 16, 2021

Hi @t1279k  and welcome to the community!

I am quoting here from our documentation:

If you don't want to run a pipeline on a commit that would normally trigger one, you can include [skip ci] or [ci skip] anywhere in your commit message of the HEAD commit. Any commits that include [skip ci] or [ci skip] in the message are ignored by Pipelines.

My suggestion would be the following: if you have locally commits that change your application, push those first, so a pipeline will get triggered.

Then, create a separate commit that changes the bitbucket-pipelines.yml only, include [skip ci] anywhere in the commit message of this commit, push it and the pipeline won't get triggered. You can also change the bitbucket-pipelines.yml file from Bitbucket website and include [skip ci] in the commit message so that no build will run.

If you push multiple commits that change both your application and the bitbucket-pipelines.yml, and [skip ci] is included in the commit message of the last commit, then no pipeline will run for any of the previous commits either. This is why I am suggesting changing the bitbucket-pipelines.yml only in one commit and push only that.