how to push only the code changes

zzzro February 3, 2021

Hello,

I am new to bitbucket. We have succcesfully configired bitbucket pipeline to push a repository branch to AWS EC2 instance using Code Build and Code Deploy.

But, the issue is, when we run the pipeline, it creates a zip file of entire repository and replaces the entire content on EC2. We want to push only the changes we did (say a single php file). Zipping entire repostiroy with images, and media files is a overkill and doesn't allow us to promote only bugfix.

How can we do that - any help will be great.

Pls. find our pipeline yml file content below.

- step: script:

- apt-get update

- apt-get install -y zip - zip -r appProd.zip

- pipe: atlassian/aws-code-deploy:0.2.5

variables:

AWS_DEFAULT_REGION: $AWS_DEFAULT_REGION

AWS_ACCESS_KEY_ID: $AWS_ACCESS_KEY_ID

AWS_SECRET_ACCESS_KEY: $AWS_SECRET_ACCESS_KEY

APPLICATION_NAME: $APPLICATION_NAME

S3_BUCKET: $S3_BUCKET

COMMAND: "upload"

ZIP_FILE: "appProd.zip"

VERSION_LABEL: "app-web-prod-1.0.0"

- pipe: atlassian/aws-code-deploy:0.2.5

variables:

AWS_DEFAULT_REGION: $AWS_DEFAULT_REGION

AWS_ACCESS_KEY_ID: $AWS_ACCESS_KEY_ID

AWS_SECRET_ACCESS_KEY: $AWS_SECRET_ACCESS_KEY

APPLICATION_NAME: $APPLICATION_NAME

DEPLOYMENT_GROUP: "xx_Www_Pppp"

S3_BUCKET: $S3_BUCKET

COMMAND: "deploy"

WAIT: "true"

VERSION_LABEL: "app-web-prod-1.0.0"

IGNORE_APPLICATION_STOP_FAILURES: "true"

FILE_EXISTS_BEHAVIOR: "OVERWRITE"

1 answer

0 votes
Halyna Berezovska
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
February 5, 2021

@zzzrothanks for using the pipe.

Looks like --file-exists-behviour OVERWRITE does not do actually what you want. It does not compare what files have changed:

First option

In aws docs I see that this param can be described as the following:

OVERWRITE: The version of the file from the application revision currently being deployed replaces the version already on the instance.