Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to run npm test as a task.

Deleted user March 26, 2020

I'm currently trying to run 'npm test' as a task. The command is simply 'test'. When I try to run my build plan I get the following error:

26-Mar-2020 18:10:25> bambootest@0.1.0 test /home/bytebaron/atlassian-bamboo-7.0.2/xml-data/build-dir/BAM-BTP-JOB1
26-Mar-2020 18:10:25> react-scripts test
26-Mar-2020 18:10:25 
26-Mar-2020 18:10:25sh: 1: react-scripts: not found
26-Mar-2020 18:10:25npm ERR! Test failed.  See above for more details.

It appears to me like the command isn't really being run from the correct directory? I can run this command locally in a vscode terminal fine however I'm new to Bamboo and I am unsure where this command would be executed exactly. I'd appreciate any help.

1 answer

0 votes
Gerhard Forster
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
April 17, 2020

Hi @[deleted],

I just answered another question from you, basically on th same npm topic. There I sent a great KB on how to configure a npm task within Bamboo. Possibly, the "magic" for you is Node.js being configured correctly, so providing the path to the node and implicitly the npm binary. And also environment variable NODE_HOME to be set.

By the way, other than using Bamboo's npm task, you can also use npm's CLI and thus run your npm commands from within a Bamboo Script task. Only take care of interactive processes, like npm init, where you need to enter a bunch of data or at least hit <CR> several times. Though, npm install and npm test should work just fine.

As of your posted build log snippet, npm test fails for you because react-scripts cannot be found and likely your defined Node.js tests are in there.

So answering your question, the build log directly tells you where the build is run, namely here:

/home/bytebaron/atlassian-bamboo-7.0.2/xml-data/build-dir/BAM-BTP-JOB1