Plan branches for feature branches

Hi,

I have a plan (based on master) which is configured to poll the repository for changes.

Currently i have manualy added an existing branch (develop) to the plan that will use the same configuration of the plan.

Im my use case, the feature branches should execute a slightly different build - hence the tasks are different. Since plan branches can't have different stages / jobs / tasks than the plan, i have decided to create another plan - just for feature branches.

Since feature branches are created on the fly, the plan is again based on the master plan.
I want that the plan will be triggered by polling the repository, but i only want the plan to be triggered for the feature branches - not the master branch.

If i don't create a trigger in the plan, i will need to manually create a trigger for every feature branch that will be detected by Bamboo - which is not feasable.
If i create a trigger for the plan, then any change to the master branch will trigger both the original plan and the feature branches plan which I also don't want.

Is there a way to overcome this?

If not - can a feature be added that you can configure stuff in the plan but tick a checkbox that will say to only apply this on plan branches?

Thanks,

Moti.

2 answers

This widget could not be displayed.

Hi Moti,

Thank you for your question.

I would suggest you on having a look at Bamboo Variables where you can check which branch the commit was originated from.

# please, create a new Script task in your plan and paste in the following:
echo "bamboo.repository.branch.name: ${bamboo.repository.branch.name}"

Kind regards,
Rafael

This widget could not be displayed.

Hi Rafael,

I am aware of Bamboo variables and also use them in my plans.

I'm not sure however how this helps my scenario - Assuming i want to use tasks rather than scripts - there is no option to define conditions for task execution as far as i know.