Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Missing Create Release button

Bill Mertz April 2, 2020

I have been using Bamboo for about 2 years. It is installed locally. Normally, when I build a plan branch, in the build activity screen, I get a Create Release button if the build was successful. Today, for the first time, I do not get a Create Release button. I don't know why. 

We also use Jira. Starting on Monday of this week, we switched from sprints to kanban. Does this have anything to do with it? I have been reading posts in the community that suggest it might.

To be clear, these are the steps I am taking:

1. In the build plan, I create a new plan branch. I choose the branch that was just created and is ready for QA

2. I run the plan branch

3. I click on the Build menu Build Activity item. I choose the build that is currently building.

4. In this screen, I can watch the build progress. When it finished, a Create Release button should show up, but it does not.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

1 answer

0 votes
Gerhard Forster
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
April 16, 2020

Hi Bill,

Thanks for your question about the "Create Release" button, repectively the fact that you find it missing. I cross checked that for you, triggering a build creating an artifact on one of my local Bamboo instances and found the button mentioned by you being created under the below two conditions.

1. Build succeeds. Otherwise within "... failed" message, on the right hand side, there pop up two different buttons which are "Assign responsible" and "Claim full responsibility".
  2. A deployment environment needs to be linked to this build plan. If not, the field on the right side of "Build result summary" keeps simply empty.

However, in any further conditions of triggering this and further build plans, button "Create Release" always appears for me.