Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best way to write build number into project and commit back to git/Stash?

David Paquin September 9, 2014

I'm new to Bamboo, and have created a few projects in it so far. All of them are linked to repositories in Stash. Each time a build occurs I'd like to increment a build number (currently I'm using buildnumber in ant), write to the project I'm building (set its build number), and then commit that new build number back to git/Stash. I have the first 2 parts down, but is there a way to commit back to git?

Like I say, I'm still quite green when it comes to Bamboo, so perhaps I'm going about this wrong... How do others handle build numbers in Bamboo?

3 answers

1 vote
John Snead September 9, 2014

Hi David and Adrian,

One reason to write back to the repo at the end of a build is to map commits in the repo to builds. We do this by creating a tag containing the build number. Developers can then tell at a glance which commits were in which build. I'm not totally satisfied with the way I have implemented it at the moment, but I have an inline script task as the last task, which contains:

cd ${bamboo.build.working.directory}\${bamboo.projectkey}\${bamboo.repo}
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Git\bin\git.exe" tag "${bamboo.buildKey}_${bamboo.buildNumber}"
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Git\bin\git.exe" push --tags http://buildadmin:${bamboo.buildadmin.password}@10.10.60.105:7990/scm/${bamboo.projectkey}/${bamboo.repo}.git

(some of the variables here are ones we define for every plan - projectkey, repo, and it's obviously our URL and username. BTW I couldn't get SSH to work here and various Atlassian &/or StackOverflow answers said to use http. You hide the password using the shared credentials facility)

By the way, if you were to update and push a file back, you prevent a build being triggered (recursively!!) by setting an exclusion on that file in the build plan repo definition.