Missed Team ’24? Catch up on announcements here.

Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to use Jira to perfom a task by agile.

Oliver Akam
I'm New Here
I'm New Here
Those new to the Atlassian Community have posted less than three times. Give them a warm welcome!
June 26, 2020

As a Systems Administrator I need to learn how to use JIRA to determine and track my tasking and show my progress. Any suggestion guys ? I am new to Jira and I am actually doing this by agile.

2 answers

Suggest an answer

0 votes
C_ Derek Fields
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
June 28, 2020

A slightly different answer than @Nic Brough -Adaptavist- - In my experience, most system administrators are working on isolated tasks. Those tasks may have dependencies, but generally they are just a list of different tasks that other people have requested such as creating new users, adding disk space, upgrading software, restoring a backup, adding a new CPU, creating a new VM, etc. etc.

In this case, I recommend that you adopt a Kanban method, whether it is at the individual level (you are a "team" of one) or for the entire team. From your post, I am assuming that you want to use Jira as your own personal Kanban board that you will maintain but will be visible to other people so that they can see the size of your backlog, what is in progress, what has been completed, etc. However, everything I say below applies equally well to a team (except the WIP limits will be higher)