Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

On the recent release of Scrum Guide 2020 and changes to Scrum methodology

Tom Kakanowski November 24, 2020

Well, a little over a week ago, Schwaber and Sutherland released the Scrum Guide 2020  and it introduced some changes and new concepts, including

• Reduced prescriptive guidance
  • One Team One Product
  • Introduction of Product Goals and Sprint Goals
  • Self Managing over Self Organizing
  • "Why" added to sprint planning topics of "What" and "How"
  • Language simplification

I'm interested in people's thoughts on these changes, both within the orthodox Scrum methodology, as well as how its applied by Atlassian.  The following was captured from discussions with stakeholders in my organization regarding my initial assessments, so its just opinion.  I am a senior architect and strategy leader at an international financial organization, and I've been a scrum master for 17 years.