Learn the best practices + hazards of scaling Agile from expert Tarun Sapra

Tarun_Sapra.jpg

@Tarun Sapra lives and breathes Agile and Atlassian. In this article, you will discover the steps Tarun took in his career to go from Engineering student in New Delhi to Agile and Atlassian expert worldwide! Enjoy, and feel free to ask Tarun any questions you might have in the comments section below.

Describe in a few sentences your life/career leading up to now

I grew up in New Delhi, and after completing my Engineering in 2008, I started working as a Java Developer with Computer Sciences Corporation. After working at CSC for a couple of years, I realized I wanted to work in a company with a more startup-like environment with a strong focus on Agile principles. So, in 2010 I started a job at Xebia, working on Scrum teams that introduced me to concepts like Continuous Integration, Automation testing etc. Aside from working full-time as a Developer, I also helped other teams in setting up their Atlassian tools, automating tasks using python and at times writing small Jira Plugins (now called Marketplace Apps). 

Taurn and friends.jpg

In 2013 I received an opportunity to work for Xebia Netherland on a project at eBay’s Amsterdam office. The project was all about deployment, customization, and configuration of Atlassian stack being used by eBay teams across the globe. A number of teams using the Atlassian stack across eBay grew at an exponential rate and I had the pleasure of working with some very experienced Agile coaches in rolling out the tools for the various teams. Additionally, I was really into traveling since I was new in Europe! Thus, almost every weekend I would visit a new town or a nearby country.