Do all statues in a workflow with 'transition all' support the agile project management?

I am an administrator of a Jira DC system that contains 200+ projects.

Many of these are Software projects.

I continually fall out with project teams as they want the ability to move tickets around as they please.

I use the example of getting ready for work in the morning:

Today I may do this

1. Shower

2. Get out of bed

3. Brush my teath

4. Leave the house

Tomorrow I may just:

1. Leave the house because I do not want to get out of bed...

Am I missing something?

5 comments

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
April 29, 2022

No, you're not missing anything.

You can configure Jira workflows to follow any process flow you want, whether that be a strictly controlled linear process, or a complete free-for-all.

In Software development, especially when being Agile, the free-for-all end of the scale is more appropriate, and you probably are on the wrong end of the argument.

Imagine a process where someone says "hey, can we make the software do this?" and a team looks at i, says yes or no (no including "yes, but it'll cost too much"), if it's a yes, they develop it, test it, and ship it.  You would probably have a workflow something like 

New -> being analysed -> to develop -> in progress -> in test -> done

Your Agile teams are asking you to not limit them to that linear process, because in real life, there are going to be times when it's going to be accurate to move backwards or skip steps.