Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Spotlight: Marcos Garcia

Quick disclaimer: Hi everyone! My name is Bridget, and I'm new to the Atlassian Community Team as the Content Manager. Every week I interview a member of this Community to highlight the unique ways that folks interact with Atlassian products. If you have recommendations or feedback for future spotlights, please send them my way: bsauer@atlassian.com. 

This week the Community Spotlight shines on @Marcos Garcia, a DevOps Engineer at Sogema Technologies, a company changing the world with meaningful projects in developing nations. (No big deal, right)? Sogema is working on bringing fully automated software technologies to the governments of countries in West Africa and Latin America. 

B: Tell me a little about a Sogema Technologies project that you feel has had the biggest positive impact on the world so far? 

M: Bringing our Tax Administration System (SIGTAS) to countries with little or no information technology, it is certainly a thrill. You can witness an immediate positive impact of people having contact with modern technology. In addition, all the infrastructure we have to build (with help of partners) around it, creates more jobs and impulse the development of a nation. I’m so proud to work here. Last week, for example, we demo'd DevOps, Containers + Pipelines to the Government of Senegal…. It is lovely to see their reception and how much they are curious about it. Our website: http://www.sogematech.com

B: What are some of the biggest challenges you face while bringing automated software technologies to the governments of countries in West Africa and Latin America?

M: The biggest challenge, I’d say it is the basic infrastructure. Second, the learning curve, but I personally love to spend time training people.

B: What Atlassian products do you use? Which is your favorite?