Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Setting up plan for multiple projects

Jeremy West July 17, 2019

I am just starting to get into Portfolio so we can better manage our resourcing across multiple projects.

The way we currently do things is that each client project we are working on has its own Jira Project with a Kanban board where tasks are added into the back log then selected for development. During this phase they are grouped to epics and release versions as required, people are assigned and we currently leverage the due date field.

As I am fairly new to Portfolio, I would like to add all our currently working projects to a Project Delivery Plan, I am just trying to work out if its best to create a single team, as most of the team work across all the client projects, or create project specific teams?

Just wondering if someone can point me in the right direction as to what the normal approach to this might be?

1 answer

0 votes
Earl McCutcheon
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
July 23, 2019

Hi Jeremy,

If you're only going to have a single plan containing all the projects, and all the users will be working across all the projects in the plan, going with one team with all the users would be the easiest way to break down the work load, with the minimal overlap on tasks.  This method would be more dependent on other scheduling factors such as dependencies and ranking to schedule the issues and would look at the team members overall availability and capacity to address the issues as they can be worked on.