Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advanced Roadmap auto-schedule sets all tasks to 14 days (sprint)

Dave Dwyer September 16, 2020

I am new to Advanced Roadmap and attempting to use the auto-schedule feature.  I am having multiple issues with the auto-schedule feature and seeking help.  

I have a roadmap where I have created Initiative, Epic, Story.  I have defined the tasks to be completed in the same PI (12 weeks).  I have inserted story points (60 points for a two week sprint).  I have created dependencies where needed.  I have assigned assignee's for tasks.   There is only 1 team for this roadmap.  All assignee's are from the single team.

When I use the auto-schedule, all tasks are 14 days long (a sprint) regardless the number of story points.  And the auto-schedule will show multiple tasks being performed by a single assignee on the first sprint day.  I would expected the auto-schedule to realize that a single person can not perform multiple tasks on the same day start day and to stagger the tasks based on priority or some other logic.  Presently all the tasks are marked as "None". 

Any help is much appreciated.  Thank you.    

Advanced roadmap.jpg

1 answer

0 votes
Dave Dwyer September 18, 2020

I have attempted to use hours/days instead of story points.  When I insert 1 day for each task, the auto schedule features still assigns a full 14 days to the task.  I see the same results when I use hours and input 8 hours for the task.  Auto schedule assumes 14 days.  And I also attempted to use a new team member with zero work so there would be no issues with other tasks.