Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is the scheduling algorithm in Jira Portfolio?

Jill Guardanapo December 18, 2017

According to Portfolio for Jira Support, the scheduling behavior is as follows:

The scheduling algorithm will take into consideration without any additional plan configuration the following aspects:

• Backlog item' priority
  • Release and sprint assignments
  • Estimate
  • Dependencies between backlog items
  • Team schedules

I am new to using Portfolio and I cannot figure out why the algorithm is attempting to schedule issues with low priority before issues with high priority.  These issues do not have a release or sprint assignment, they do not have a time estimate (only story points), and they do not have dependencies or team schedules involved.  

Can anyone tell me what other factors would cause a low priority item to be scheduled before a high priority item in Jira Portfolio?  If I need to manually order the priority within the scope list, is there a way to show the priority in a column on the scope list?

Thank you!

1 answer

2 votes
Walter Buggenhout
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
December 21, 2017

Hi @Jill Guardanapo,

"priority" (as determined by the priority field in Jira) is not a factor that impacts the scheduling. You may be confused by the issue's order in the backlog instead. Roughly, the scheduling behaviour is based on the following:

1. Issue rank in the backlog (at story level)
  2. Available capacity (and thus team / team member assignment)
  3. Dependencies
  4. Earliest start date
  5. Release assignment
  6. Sprint assignment

The further down the order, the more precise the scheduling gets.

Amanda {Praecipio} January 2, 2018