Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I calculate variance (number) between 2 custom field date fields (baseline date and due date)

hdave May 20, 2021

I have created 2 custom field date fields (baseline date and due date)

I have also created a third custom numeric field called variance.

How can I get the following result

baseline date - 15 Apr 2021

due date - 30 Apr 2021

variance in days is -15

I have been trying automation but no luck. appreciate if you can provide solution thanks

3 answers

0 votes
Rohan Swami
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
May 24, 2021

@hdave I'm a Product Manager on the Jira Software team, I'd love to get a deeper understanding of what you're looking to achieve with these calculations in Jira Software. Could you drop me a message at r swami @ atlassian . com and we can arrange a call to discuss?

hdave May 24, 2021

doing now... thanks Rohan

0 votes
Curt Holley
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 20, 2021

Using Automation for Jira you should be able to populate your variance field by putting something like this in it.

As in, use the edit issue action, select the Variance field and add:

{{(issue.baseline date).diff(issue.due date).days.abs}}

Then hit "enter" on your keyboard (to make it stick)

Have a look at this page for further assistance Smart values - date and time functions | Jira Software Cloud | Atlassian Support 

0 votes
Joseph Chung Yin
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 20, 2021

@hdave -