• Give kudos
  • Received
  • Given

Leaderboard

• Global

Trophy case

Kudos (beta program)

Kudos logo

You've been invited into the Kudos (beta program) private group. Chat with others in the program, or give feedback to Atlassian.

View group

It's not the same without you

Join the community to find out what other Atlassian users are discussing, debating and creating.

Atlassian Community Hero Image Collage

Freeze Scope

Hi,

my plan is based on several Jira boards. From these boards I am interested in scheduling some issues (issue 1, 2, 3) of a release (release A) in Portfolio for Jira.

When new issues (issue 4 and 5) are added to a release (which is included as an issue source), I don't want these issues to show up in the scope. Is it possible to freeze the scope, so that no issues are pulled, no matter what?

Thanks and regards,

Phil

2 answers

2 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Scott Theus Community Leader Feb 04, 2019

Hi Phil,

I'm new to Portfolio, so this may not be the best way to accomplish this, but here's my suggestion anyway....

• Add a custom field as a yes/no check box to your issue view called "Freeze Program Scope."
  • When you are ready to freeze the scope of the project  do a bulk update of all the issues in the project to change the check box to "Yes."
  • Copy the filters you currently use for the boards and add a clause for "Freeze Scope = Yes"
  • Use the new filter for your Program. 
  • Lock down or hide the "Freeze Scope field so only an admin can update it. 

This should keep your Program limited to the initial scope of the projects while allowing new issues to be added to a project.