Render field in web panel

Justin Volden October 9, 2017

I am working on a web panel using Script Runner. I have the content I want in the panel from a number of custom fields, now I am trying to determine how to properly render those fields. When I use:

def assignedToField = customFieldManager.getCustomFieldObject('customfield_11902')
def assignedToVal = issue.getCustomFieldValue(assignedToField)

def rendererManager = ComponentAccessor.getComponent(RendererManager)
def test = ComponentAccessor.getFieldLayoutManager().getFieldLayout(issue).getFieldLayoutItem('customfield_11902')
def renderer = rendererManager.getRendererForField(test)
writer.write(renderer.render(assignedToVal.toString(), null))

I get values rendered in text rather than the expected renderer. The fields I am looking at are from Riada's Insights plugin, so the expected result would be to render the fields using the Insights renderer, 

I am a novice scripter at best, so I am fairly certain I am missing all kinds of things here. I'm not sure a web panel can even really render individual fields, however the built in panels seem to do this.  

Any pointers or examples that may help me figure this out?

Thank you

3 answers

Suggest an answer

0 votes
Daniel Ben Eliyahu February 28, 2021

wow, this is exactly what I am trying to do,

I have been tempering with a lot of code but no success,

@Justand @Adolfo Casari  have you fund any solution?

0 votes
Adolfo Casari
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
October 5, 2020

@Justin Volden, did you find a solution? I am trying to do the same.

0 votes
Alexander Sundström
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
October 11, 2017