Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Behaviours: How to make custom field required when I select a specific radio button option?

Mark Crockett August 13, 2020

Version - Behaviours with Jira v8.5.1 

I have been using a Beavhiours script for several months now with great success. It currently shows/hides various fields based on user selections (lists, cascading lists, checkboxes). I want to condition the required/optional condition of a text field based on the value of a radio button.

IS: Text field required status not changing when I make correct radio button selection
SHOULD BE: Text field should become required when I select specific radio button

Goal: Use Adaptavist Behaviours to make textField required when both 1. a radio button (radioField) and 2. a cascading list (listField) meet a certain selection condition.

Here is my sample code in one of the Behaviours "Fields":

// set pointers to custom fields (list, radio button, and text)
def listField = getFieldByName ("My List")
def radioField = getFieldByName ("My Radio")
def textField = getFieldByName ("My Text")

// get cascading list value (parent and child)
String listString = listField.getValue()
// if cascading list matches one of two selections, show the radio button field
if ((listString == "[Parent1, Child1]") || (listString == "[Parent1, Child2]")) {
    radioField.setHidden(false)
} // otherwise, hide the radio button field
else {
    radioField.setHidden(true)
}
// get the value of the radio button field
String radioString = radioField.getValue()
// if both the cascading list and radio button value match specific values, make the text field required
if ((listString == "[Parent1, Child1]") && (radioString == "Radio Option")) {
    textField.setRequired(true)
}
// in all other cases, make the text field optional
else {
    textField.setRequired(false)
}